how to use OSS4 with new Wine

OSS specific Linux discussion (x86/amd64)

Moderators: cesium, dev, kodachi, hannu

how to use OSS4 with new Wine

Postby lapsio » Sat Sep 22, 2012 3:34 pm

Hello. New wine can use only alsa driver, so how can it be used on systems with OSS4? Alsa emulation doesn't work for me in wine.
lapsio
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:30 am

Re: how to use OSS4 with new Wine

Postby cesium » Sat Sep 22, 2012 5:36 pm

AFAIK, there's still an OSS driver (though IIRC recent versions require oss4's soundcard.h to build it). Maybe your distro doesn't package it?
cesium
Developer
 
Posts: 902
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:51 am

Re: how to use OSS4 with new Wine

Postby tarik2cyprian » Thu Jan 31, 2013 5:06 pm

I am currently using foobar2000 audio player under wine 1.4 in ubuntu studio 12.04. The Foobar audio player outputs sound through the audo driver called wineoss.drv and also with vimixer disabled. My questions is does anyone know or is there a way of finding out if the wineoss.drv is down sampling my 32bit 192000 wav audio files?
tarik2cyprian
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: how to use OSS4 with new Wine

Postby igorzwx » Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:01 pm

tarik2cyprian wrote:I am currently using foobar2000 audio player under wine 1.4 in ubuntu studio 12.04. The Foobar audio player outputs sound through the audo driver called wineoss.drv and also with vimixer disabled. My questions is does anyone know or is there a way of finding out if the wineoss.drv is down sampling my 32bit 192000 wav audio files?


You may study the source code of wineoss.drv http://source.winehq.org/source/dlls/wineoss.drv/

You may also play that wave with ossplay:

Code: Select all
$ ossplay -vvvv -R 32bit_192kHz.wav


Do you hear the difference?

Foobar may also have a kind of resampler inside...
igorzwx
Known Member
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: how to use OSS4 with new Wine

Postby cesium » Fri Feb 08, 2013 1:34 pm

Well, the attached strace can allow you to see which ioctls with with arguments wine sends (use 'strace -e trace=ioctl ....'), so you can see which rate it chooses.
Attachments
strace.x86_64.gz
(103.8 KiB) Downloaded 435 times
cesium
Developer
 
Posts: 902
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:51 am

Re: how to use OSS4 with new Wine

Postby tarik2cyprian » Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:55 pm

Thanks Cesium for this file and Ingor for the info you provieded.

In response to Ingor I tested the ossplay -vvvv -R 32bit_192kHz.wav in command vs the wineoss.drv sound output and there does seem to be a difference. Yes
their is a resampler in foobar but is is disabled.

In response to Cesium for the attached file you provided can you explain in detail (step by step) on how to use it so I can see what sampling and bitdept output wineoss.drv is using.

Thanks once again
tarik2cyprian
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: how to use OSS4 with new Wine

Postby igorzwx » Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:44 pm

tarik2cyprian wrote:can you explain in detail (step by step) on how to use it so I can see what sampling and bitdept output wineoss.drv is using.


See an example here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4035&p=16204#p16154
Notice that strace.x86_64 would not work with x386. You may find both in that thread.

See also: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi ... plications
igorzwx
Known Member
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: how to use OSS4 with new Wine

Postby tarik2cyprian » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:03 am

Igore I went to the link and saw the example but I am still lost. Do I run my Foobar2000 application first running an audio file and then open up the
terminal and type ./strac* -e trace=ioctl,open Foobar2000 *.wav -R. I tried this command and did not work.

Just a reminder about my setup; Foobar2000 is being ran through wine1.4 in Ubuntu Studio 12.04 amd64bit.
tarik2cyprian
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:04 pm

Re: how to use OSS4 with new Wine

Postby igorzwx » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:36 am

tarik2cyprian wrote:Igore I went to the link and saw the example but I am still lost. Do I run my Foobar2000 application first running an audio file and then open up the
terminal and type ./strac* -e trace=ioctl,open Foobar2000 *.wav -R. I tried this command and did not work.

Just a reminder about my setup; Foobar2000 is being ran through wine1.4 in Ubuntu Studio 12.04 amd64bit.


1. Unzip strace and make it executable.
2. Try to reproduce my experiment.

Then you may try something like this:

Code: Select all
$ ./strac* -e trace=ioctl,open wine <path to Foobar2000 exe>


Then you may play your wave with Foobar2000 and watch the output on terminal.

Note: "./strac*" means that terminal is opened in the folder where "strace.x86_64" is located.
igorzwx
Known Member
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron