Intel HD Audio frog-like noises

OSS specific Solaris discussion (x86/SPARC)

Moderators: cesium, dev, kodachi, hannu

Intel HD Audio frog-like noises

Postby suertes » Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:41 pm

Hi,

I have installed the OSS drivers on an Asus laptop with Intel HD Audio. The problem is that a moment after installation some strange noise appears: every second there is frog-like sound made by the speakers. Even if I turn off voice the noises appear.
# ossinfo
Version info: OSS 4.0 (build 1002/200704100916) (0x00040002)
Platform: SunOS/i86pc 5.11 snv_55b

Number of audio devices: 5
Number of audio engines: 9
Number of MIDI devices: 0
Number of mixer devices: 1


Device objects
0: hdaudio0 Intel HD Audio
1: sadasupport0 SADA compatibility layer
2: ossusb0 USB audio/MIDI device
3: oss0 OSS core services
4: vmix0 OSS transparent virtual support

MIDI devices (/dev/midi*)

Mixer devices (/dev/mixer*)
0: Intel HD Audio 0x10573055 (Mixer 0 of device object 0)

Audio devices
/dev/oss/hdaudio0/spdout0 Intel HD Audio spdif output (device index 0)
/dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm0 Intel HD Audio play-front output (device index 1)
/dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm1 Intel HD Audio play-side output (device index 2)
/dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm2 Intel HD Audio play-center/LFE output (device index 3)
/dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcmin0 Intel HD Audio record input (device index 4)

I will be grateful for any help.
suertes
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 12:15 pm

Postby hannu » Mon Jun 04, 2007 6:36 pm

Hi,

What is the exact model of the computer?

Best regards,

Hannu
Hannu Savolainen (hannu@opensound.com)
hannu
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 6:28 am

Postby suertes » Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:36 pm

It is Asus V1j-AK015P.

I tried OSS on both Solaris Developer Express and Solaris 10 and the problem is same. Except that everything seems to be fine; but this noise is extremely annoying and frequent. It is on even when I logg out and reboot...
suertes
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 12:15 pm

Postby suertes » Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:54 pm

Perhaps it is smth with mixer? Once the system is loaded I get the info:
Unknown HDA codec 0x10573055 .
suertes
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 12:15 pm


Return to Solaris

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest