[ARCH64]Only one speaker works in OSS

OSS specific Linux discussion (x86/amd64)

Moderators: hannu, dev, cesium, kodachi

[ARCH64]Only one speaker works in OSS

Postby Matty265 » Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:53 pm

Hey Guys,
i changed to OSS because now i can run Youtube Flash Videos and Tuxguitar at the same timer ;)
But i have some problems, i only hear sound from the right speaker? I mean, there is sound from the left but its so quite its almost not hearable
In this screenshot, it looks like the left side is quite louder, but actually, i just heard the right speaker, the left one was nearly quite
http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=screen0xf8.png
These are my settings for now, do you know what i have to tweak to get everything work properly?
http://picfront.de/d/7XXC

greetings
Matty265
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: [ARCH64]Only one speaker works in OSS

Postby igorzwx » Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:56 pm

Matty265 wrote:Hey Guys,
i changed to OSS because now i can run Youtube Flash Videos and Tuxguitar at the same timer ;)
But i have some problems, i only hear sound from the right speaker? I mean, there is sound from the left but its so quite its almost not hearable
In this screenshot, it looks like the left side is quite louder, but actually, i just heard the right speaker, the left one was nearly quite
http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=screen0xf8.png
These are my settings for now, do you know what i have to tweak to get everything work properly?
http://picfront.de/d/7XXC

greetings


Could you please post the output of "ossmix", "ossinfo", "lspci", etc.?

You may also test it with Arch32 LiveCD viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3933#p15851

EDIT: Do you have "aliens" installed (e.g., PulseAudio, ALSA emulators, ALSA configs)?

EDIT: For a clear-cut test, you may create a special wave with Audacity (or SoX) and play it with "ossplay".
igorzwx
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: [ARCH64]Only one speaker works in OSS

Postby cesium » Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:18 pm

Is this the ALC1200? (OSS recognizes it as ALC888, but ALSA tests the ALC chip's rev and should tell you). There's a known problem with it...
cesium
 
Posts: 903
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:51 am

Re: [ARCH64]Only one speaker works in OSS

Postby Matty265 » Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:21 pm

Damn, ok, the box of the mainboard says "Realtek ALC1200 8 -Channel High-Definition Audio CODEC " :(
So this wont work, even with some workaround? That would be awfull :(
Matty265
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:42 pm


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 6 guests