Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

OSS specific Linux discussion (x86/amd64)

Moderators: cesium, dev, kodachi, hannu

Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby Cadynum » Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:09 pm

Hi! I just got myself a Xonar DX, however I'm faced with one problem: I cant get the microphone to work with it.
The card got a shared line-in/microphone/spdif out port. I can enable/disable spdif successfully in ossxmix. (Verified by watching the red light turn off and on).
I've tried several combinations of checking/unchecking every checkbox i can find, to no success.
I cant turn on the front panel audio support either.
I was able to get both the mic and the front audio to work with alsa.

ossmix: http://pastebin.com/QHxu7Kky
ossxmix: http://ojeling.net/2011-02-08-192037_13 ... _scrot.png

Version : 4.2_2004-1
Distro : Arch Linux 64Bit
Cadynum
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:59 pm

Re: Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby igorzwx » Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:35 pm

Cadynum wrote:Hi! I just got myself a Xonar DX, however I'm faced with one problem: I cant get the microphone to work with it.
The card got a shared line-in/microphone/spdif out port. I can enable/disable spdif successfully in ossxmix. (Verified by watching the red light turn off and on).
I've tried several combinations of checking/unchecking every checkbox i can find, to no success.
I cant turn on the front panel audio support either.
I was able to get both the mic and the front audio to work with alsa.

ossmix: http://pastebin.com/QHxu7Kky
ossxmix: http://ojeling.net/2011-02-08-192037_13 ... _scrot.png

Version : 4.2_2004-1
Distro : Arch Linux 64Bit


I had more amusing experience with ICH6 and Arch. Mic did not work after the first reboot. The problem was fixed with chattr.
However, if you change from mic to line-in, this would kill mic. You would need to reload OSS to resurrect mic.

You may try OSS with Arch LiveCD. Try to record with default settings (without changing anything in the mixer).
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3933#p16711

You may try to set ON here:
Code: Select all
ext.monitor.analog ON|OFF (currently OFF)
igorzwx
Known Member
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby Cadynum » Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:14 pm

It doesn't make any difference if i set ext.monitor.analog to on.
With alsa i get a physical "click" sound from the soundcard itself when i change between mic/line in/spdif. No matter what checkbox i check/uncheck in ossxmix i don't ever get that click sound.

LiveCD:
I already run Arch Linux with the latest oss. I'm not sure how using a liveCD of the same configuration would help?

OSSInfo:

Code: Select all
Version info: OSS 4.2 (b 2004/201101052228) (0x00040100) GPL
Platform: Linux/x86_64 2.6.37-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 29 20:00:33 CET 2011 (cell)

Number of audio devices:   2
Number of audio engines:   7
Number of MIDI devices:      0
Number of mixer devices:   1


Device objects
0: osscore0 OSS core services
1: oss_cmi878x0 Asus Xonar DX (AV100) interrupts=29298 (36897)
2: oss_usb0 USB audio core services

MIDI devices (/dev/midi*)

Mixer devices
0: CMedia CMI8788 (Mixer 0 of device object 1)

Audio devices
Asus Xonar DX (AV100) (MultiChannel)  /dev/oss/oss_cmi878x0/pcm0  (device index 0)
Asus Xonar DX (AV100) (SPDIF)     /dev/oss/oss_cmi878x0/pcm1  (device index 1)

Nodes
  /dev/dsp -> /dev/oss/oss_cmi878x0/pcm0
  /dev/dsp_in -> /dev/oss/oss_hdaudio0/pcm0
  /dev/dsp_out -> /dev/oss/oss_hdaudio0/pcm0
  /dev/dsp_ac3 -> /dev/oss/oss_hdaudio0/spdout0
  /dev/dsp_mmap -> /dev/oss/oss_hdaudio0/pcm0
  /dev/dsp_multich -> /dev/oss/oss_hdaudio0/pcm0
Cadynum
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:59 pm

Re: Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby igorzwx » Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:32 pm

LiveCD is 32bit.

You may simply try to reinstall OSS and test mic (with default settings) before the first reboot.
Do no forget to remove the old /usr/lib/oss


look here!!!

Code: Select all
/dev/dsp_in -> /dev/oss/oss_hdaudio0/pcm0


Perhaps, you should plug your mic into other souncard.

Do you have a kind of Intel HDA souncard onboard?
igorzwx
Known Member
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby Cadynum » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:51 pm

I do have a built in soundcard but i would really prefer to use the xonar since it's quality is far better.
Is there really any chance for it to work with 32bit when it doesn't work with 64? Even if the live cd would work it doesn't really help my situation.
Cadynum
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:59 pm

Re: Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby igorzwx » Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:05 pm

Cadynum wrote:I do have a built in soundcard but i would really prefer to use the xonar since it's quality is far better.
Is there really any chance for it to work with 32bit when it doesn't work with 64? Even if the live cd would work it doesn't really help my situation.


The simplest thing to try is to disable that other soundcard in BIOS and reinstall OSS

1. remove OSS
2. remove /usr/lib/oss
3. install OSS
igorzwx
Known Member
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby Cadynum » Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:39 am

igorzwx wrote:
Cadynum wrote:I do have a built in soundcard but i would really prefer to use the xonar since it's quality is far better.
Is there really any chance for it to work with 32bit when it doesn't work with 64? Even if the live cd would work it doesn't really help my situation.


The simplest thing to try is to disable that other soundcard in BIOS and reinstall OSS

1. remove OSS
2. remove /usr/lib/oss
3. install OSS


It was disabled all along.
Nonetheless I followed your steps, and installed the mercurial version instead. It still doesn't work though.
Cadynum
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:59 pm

Re: Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby igorzwx » Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:54 am

Cadynum wrote:
igorzwx wrote:
Cadynum wrote:I do have a built in soundcard but i would really prefer to use the xonar since it's quality is far better.
Is there really any chance for it to work with 32bit when it doesn't work with 64? Even if the live cd would work it doesn't really help my situation.


The simplest thing to try is to disable that other soundcard in BIOS and reinstall OSS

1. remove OSS
2. remove /usr/lib/oss
3. install OSS


It was disabled all along.
Nonetheless I followed your steps, and installed the mercurial version instead. It still doesn't work though.


1. Run

Code: Select all
$ lsmod | grep oss


2. If oss_hdaudio driver is loaded, blacklist it and reboot.

3. After reboot run

Code: Select all
# soundoff
# ossdetect -v
# soundon


Post here the output of

Code: Select all
$ lspci -v


-----------------------------------------------
EDIT: Another thing to try is to compile OSS without drivers which you do not need

Your driver name seems to be oss_cmi878x0

see:

Code: Select all
$ lsmod | grep oss


Read this: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3543&start=30#p15711

Code: Select all
$ gedit ./PKGBUILD


Code: Select all
${srcdir}/${_dir}/configure --only-drv=oss_cmi878x0 --enable-libsalsa=NO || return 1
igorzwx
Known Member
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby cladisch » Thu Feb 10, 2011 3:14 pm

With alsa i get a physical "click" sound from the soundcard itself when i change between mic/line in/spdif. No matter what checkbox i check/uncheck in ossxmix i don't ever get that click sound.

The OSS Xonar driver is incomplete.
Ask some developer to add DX microphone support; it's documente here: http://git.alsa-project.org/?p=alsa-kernel.git;a=blob;f=sound/pci/oxygen/xonar_cs43xx.c;hb=HEAD#l19
cladisch
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:14 am
Location: Earth

Re: Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby Cadynum » Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:28 am

cladisch wrote:
With alsa i get a physical "click" sound from the soundcard itself when i change between mic/line in/spdif. No matter what checkbox i check/uncheck in ossxmix i don't ever get that click sound.

The OSS Xonar driver is incomplete.
Ask some developer to add DX microphone support; it's documente here: http://git.alsa-project.org/?p=alsa-kernel.git;a=blob;f=sound/pci/oxygen/xonar_cs43xx.c;hb=HEAD#l19

Damn. I hope it gets implemented soon enough.
Cadynum
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:59 pm

Re: Asus Xonar DX - No microphone input

Postby joelmatth » Wed May 25, 2011 7:33 pm

I've just bought a Xonar D1, and I've got the same issues. Really don't want to go back to alsa... Any chance of getting the DX/D1 fully supported? Is there anything I can do to help?
joelmatth
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 7:25 pm


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron