Still: NOTICE: Unknown HDA codec 0x11c13055

OSS specific Solaris discussion (x86/SPARC)

Moderators: hannu, dev, kodachi, cesium

Still: NOTICE: Unknown HDA codec 0x11c13055

Postby hakimoto » Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:19 pm

Hi,

after I don't know how many builds that have come to be, I still get this warning message on boot:

NOTICE: Unknown HDA codec 0x11c13055

Output from ossinfo:

Version info: OSS 4.0 (b1012/200801051101) (0x00040003)
Platform: SunOS/i86pc 5.11 snv_77 (asagao-jkk)

Number of audio devices: 9
Number of audio engines: 25
Number of mixer devices: 1


Device objects
0: sadasupport0 SADA compatibility layer
1: osscore0 OSS common devices interrupts=417 (834)
HD Audio controller Intel HD Audio
Vendor ID 0x808627d8
Subvendor ID 0x14620571
Codec 0: ALC882 (0x10ec0882/0x1462120d)
Codec 1: Unknown (0x11c13055)
2: hdaudio0 Intel HD Audio interrupts=409 (818)
HD Audio controller Intel HD Audio
Vendor ID 0x808627d8
Subvendor ID 0x14620571
Codec 0: ALC882 (0x10ec0882/0x1462120d)
Codec 1: Unknown (0x11c13055)
3: vmix0 OSS transparent virtual support


Mixer devices
0: High Definition Audio ALC882 (Mixer 0 of device object 2)

Audio devices
High Definition Audio front /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm0 (device index 0)
High Definition Audio rear /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm1 (device index 1)
High Definition Audio center/LFE /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm2 (device index 2)
High Definition Audio side /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm3 (device index 3)
High Definition Audio fp-front /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm4 (device index 4)
High Definition Audio spdif-out /dev/oss/hdaudio0/spdout0 (device index 5)
High Definition Audio rec1 /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcmin0 (device index 6)
High Definition Audio rec2 /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcmin1 (device index 7)
High Definition Audio rec3 /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcmin2 (device index 8)

My system:

SunOS asagao-jkk 5.11 snv_77 i86pc i386 i86pc
hakimoto
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 5:29 pm

Postby dev » Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:53 pm

Unknown codec looks like the HD Modem codecs. We don't support modems in solaris because it's all softmodem based.
dev
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 6:08 am
Location: Culver City, CA

Postby seawright » Sun Jan 13, 2008 7:50 pm

This or a very similar question has appeared repeatedly.
Perhaps the error message should be changed so that if a valid device is also detected the error message should have:

"Could this be your modem?\n"

appended to it.
regards
Clive
seawright
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:10 pm
Location: Hampshire UK

Postby hakimoto » Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:10 pm

Now that would be a good idea indeed. At least then it's not so ominous...
hakimoto
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 5:29 pm


Return to Solaris

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

cron